By Tribune News on Apr 3, 2016 at 8:22 p.m.

WILLMAR — Delegates at the District 17 DFL convention Saturday endorsed Sen. Lyle Koenen in his bid for re-election to the Minnesota Senate.

Andrew Falk, District 17A, and Mary Sawatzky, District 17B, also received endorsements as they attempt to retake their seats in the House of Representatives.

Koenen, a veteran legislator, has been senator for the district since 2012. Before that, he was a representative for the former District 20B, serving five terms. He became the District 20 senator in a special election, then went on to win the Senate contest in the newly drawn District 17.

Falk, who served three previous terms in the Legislature, and Sawatzky, a first-termer, were both defeated when they ran for re-election in 2014. Both are seeking to gain back their seats.

The endorsements at the district convention Saturday were all uncontested.

District 17 covers all of Kandiyohi County and portions of Chippewa, Renville and Swift counties.

The Seventh District DFL convention will take place April 30 in Moorhead.

The Kandiyohi County Republican Party will hold its county convention Saturday in Willmar. The district convention is later this month in Olivia, and the Seventh District Republican convention is April 30 in Moorhead.